Skip to Main Content

Boise State University Distinguished Master’s Thesis Awards

Since 2008, the Graduate College has recognized the achievements of Boise State University graduate students with the Distinguished Thesis Award. The award is given based upon four criteria: originality, significance, quality, and outcomes from the thesis.

2014 – 2015

Lyn Uratani, MA-English, Literature, 2014. “‘Not Everyone Was Asleep’: Anti-Colonial Personifications of Antiquity and Progress in José Rizal’s Touch Me Not and El Filibusterismo.” Committee:  Jacqueline O’Connor, Co-Chair, Gautam Basu Thakur, Co-Chair, and Shelton Woods. Non-STEM Award.

Alexanra (Allie) Anderson, MS-Raptor Biology, 2014. “Population Response to Climate Change: Wintering Strategy Has Carryover Effects on the Timing of Nest Initiation and Mate Choice in a Partial Migrant, the American Kestrel (Falco sparverius).” Committee:  Julie Heath, Chair;  James F. Smith, Stephen Novak, Karen Steenhof. STEM Award.

2013 – 2014

Annie Knowles, MA-English, Literature, 2013. “Encounters of the Arabian Kind: Cultural Exchange and Identity in the Tristans of Medieval France, England and Spain.” Committee: Linda Marie Zaerr, Chair, Edward Mac Test, Dalia Eltayeb.  Non-STEM Award.

Graham Frye, MS-Biology, 2012. Phytochemical Ecology of an Avian Herbivore, the Greater Sage-Grouse: Implications for Behavior, Physiology, and Conservation.” Committee: Jennifer S. Forbey, Chair, John W. Connelly, James R. Belthoff.  STEM Award.

2012 – 2013

Amy Colleen Ulappa, MS-Biology, 2011. “Nutritional and Chemical Factors Shaping Diet Selection for Two Sagebrush Specialists: Pygmy Rabbits and Sage-grouse.”  Committee: Jennifer Forbey, Chair,  Ian C. Robertson, Julie A. Heath, Owen M. McDougal.

2011 – 2012

Justin Welty, MS-Raptor Biology, 2010. “Costs and Benefits of Variable Nest Density in Burrowing Owls: Effects on Predation, Ectoparasites, Egg Yolk Hormones, and Productivity”  Committee:  James R. Belthoff, Chair; Alfred M. Dufty, Jr., Ian Robertson.

2010 – 2011

Polina Kokoulina, MS-Biology, 2010. “Caspase Activation in Neurodegenerative Diseases Classified as Taupathies and Alpha-Synucleinopathies: Caspase-Cleaved TAR DNA-Binding Protein-43 in Pick’s Disease, Parksinson’s Disease, and Dementia with Lewy Bodies.”  Committee: Troy Rohn, Chair, Julia Oxford, Juliette Tinker.

2009 – 2010

Joshua P. White, MS-Biology, 2009. “Seed Predation on Slickspot Peppergrass by the Owyhee Harvester Ant.” Committee: Ian C. Robertson, Chair, Peter Koestsier; Stephen Novak.

2008 – 2009

Melissa Keith, MA-English, Rhetoric & Composition, 2008. “The Effect of Writing Center Visits on the Writing Apprehension of Students in First-year Writing Courses.” Committee: Michael Mattison, Chair, Heidi Estrem, Devan Cook.